HIGHLIGHTS OF 2011


JANUARY 1st, 2011 I participated in the POLAR BEAR DIP. I did it once and all say is brr brr.

It was a truly incredible experience. The moment I entered the water my breath was taken away but, I pushed forward as I regained my breath.  I continued taking one step after the other, my skin actually started to burn.  Then the moment came to take the plunge and go all the way under. I remembered I had promised my self I would pick a rock from the bottom of the lake. That gave me the final push I needed to take the final plunge, as my hand touched the bottom all I could feel was sand, there was not a rock to be found.  A little disappointed but, invigorated, I let the expectations go and headed to the shore. Yet, as I reached the pebbled shoreline, I couldn’t resist stooping down and picking up my rock, it was the memento I needed of taking the plunge this one and only time.

Why did I do it? Just because I could!

Polar Bear Dip
Polar Bear Dip

March 27th, 2011, – Completed Around the Bay 5k slow and steady, 1 hour and 6 minutes.

Medal

Around The Bay Road Race 5K

April 2011, – I became a Canadian Citizen, 25 years after arriving from England. I am finally home in Hamilton..

Citizenship

Citizenship

I moved to Hamilton in 2006, very reluctantly after living in Burlington for 18 years only to discover Hamilton is a City filled with such great people and hidden gems. I have had so fun discovering all that there is to do in this City. I took 6 trips to England in 2007 to 2009 to investigate the possibility of moving back across the pond. When I came back, I finally had to admit Hamilton had won my heart and this is where I wanted to be. It was time to take the step and become a Canadian Citizen.

It was a very emotional day! However the most memorable moment was telling Mayor Bratina, ” You better watch out, now I am entitled to an opinion;)” It was quite the moment to realize my voice was a that of a Canadian.

April 2011 – November 2011, Growing my first Garden.

I never thought I would have a green thumb.  It was such a rewarding experience. Manged to harvest Strawberries, Tomatoes, Beans, Lavender, Mint, Basil, Dandelions, Sunflowers etc.

Planting the seeds I started indoors.

Planting the seeds I started indoors.

Seedlings

Seedlings

 

Harvest

Harvest

 

 

 

 

Sunflower

Sunflower – My favourite shot of the summer!

  

June, 2011 – Meeting the gentleman Johnny Bower who happened to be a Hockey Legend with the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Hugging a Legend!

Hugging a Legend!

 

Johnny Bower

Johnny Bower

 

November, 2011 – Becoming a Big Sister to the best ever Little Sister.

Little Sister
Bonding while bowling with my Little Sister

December, 2011 – Creating Snowy at Build a Bear just a majical moment.

Build a Bear

A majical moment!
Treasuring the inner child.

 

All my experiences shared with all the wonderful people from:

If you have a suggestions, comments or ideas please share:)
Hugs,
Sam
@Sam_HamOnt
FB – Samantha Holden Emmerson
 
Leave a Reply

